W D A A

Wisconsin District Attorneys' Association

President Eric Toney (2022-24) President-Elect Melinda Tempelis (2022-24) Past President Vacant Secretary/Treasurer Jackie LaBre (2022-24) **Board Members** Elizabeth Gebert (2023-25) David Lasee (2023-25) Elisabeth Mueller (2023-25) Kyle Mayo (2023-25) Tiffany Winter (2023-25) Eric Sparr (2022-24) Monica Hall (2022-24) **Association of State Prosecutors** Daniel Flaherty/Annie Jay/ Joan Korb **DOJ Representative** Susan Happ **Advisory Members** Laura Radke, DAIT Amanda Mott, SPO Sabrine Ali, SPET (DOJ) **Executive Director** Joan Korb **Communications Committee** Kyle Mayo, Chair Eric Toney Susan Happ Elisabeth Mueller **IT Committee** Kimberly Lawson, Chair Lovell Johnson Doug Jones David Lasee Isaac Lent Benjamin Lindsay Julie Moelter Amanda Nehmer Valerian Powell Kevin Schmidt **Rick Spoentgen** Jessica Skemp Eric Toney Rav Pitzka **Legislative Committee** Barry Braatz, Chair Eric Toney David Lasee Melinda Tempelis Aaron Marcoux Joan Korb Tiffany Winter

For immediate release: Contact: Eric Toney President, WDAA

The Wisconsin District Attorneys' Association (WDAA), an association representing over 400 criminal prosecutors in the State of Wisconsin, is pleased to announce the recipients of this year's prosecutor of the year awards. These awards are designed to recognize the outstanding work of a District Attorney, Deputy District Attorney, Assistant District Attorney and an ADA with 5-10 years of experience who demonstrates great promise and leadership in the field of prosecution (Rising Star).

The following recipients received their awards during the fall State Prosecutors' Education & Training conference held in Elkhart Lake Wisconsin, November, 2023.

Bayfield County District Attorney Kimberly Lawton is the 2023 District Attorney of the Year. DA Lawton is a 2010 graduate of the University of Nebraska – Lincoln Law School.

Kenosha County Deputy District Attorney Carli McNeill is the 2023 Deputy District Attorney of the Year. Deputy DA McNeill is a 2010 graduate of the Notre Dame Law School.

Monroe County Assistant District Attorney Sarah Skiles is the 2023 Assistant District Attorney of the Year. Assistant DA Skiles is a 2014 graduate of the Hamline University School of Law.

Milwaukee County Assistant District Attorney Dan Flaherty is the 2023 Rising Star. Assistant DA Flaherty is a 2011 graduate of the Boston University School of Law.

Rock County Assistant District Attorney Jerry Urbik was awarded the 2023 Distinguished Service Award. Assistant DA Urbik is a 1992 graduate from the University of Wisconsin – Madison Law School.

Green Lake County Assistant District Attorney Kurt Klomberg was awarded the President's Award. Assistant DA Klomberg is a 2002 Graduate of the University of Wisconsin – Madison Law School.

Congratulations to all of our 2023 recipients. We are grateful for your work on behalf of the people of the State of Wisconsin.